Introductions/Welcome January 14th

http://healthland.time.com/2013/01/24/why-facebook-makes-you-feel-bad-about-yourself/

The following is a link to an article dealing with how Facebook effects your emotional state. This article really hit home for me and interested me because for the longest time I toyed with the idea of getting rid of my Facebook. Reading articles and research like in this helped reinforce the idea that Facebook is bad and even more so that it can cause issues for your mental well being.

Following in the footsteps of what this article said when I first found it I decided to do some more digging of my own and actually came across a very interesting video on YouTube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8UouP8cRYZ8

The above video is from a well known youtuber discussing the various problems Facebook has caused in our society. This sparked me to start digging on my own and doing some of my own research over the vastness of the internet.

Using a very mild mixture of quantitative research I began digging through my friends Facebook feeds to back when they first joined Facebook and reading over a few posts per year.

What shocked me was how over the course of a few years by using social media their very outlooks, way they talk, and personality changed. Facebook can make the closest of friends hate each other and the worst of enemies come together as friends over the simplest of things such as a photo or a differing opinion. Especially when it came to political views.

This sparked a very interesting discussion in my head and pondered the question, “Has other social media sites cause this much change in a human psychologically?”, like any good gatherer of information I decided to go farther down the rabbit hole.

Within minutes of searching for articles and research about how twitter influences our psyche I was bombarded with article after article about how Twitter has caused huge scandals across the globe for celebrities and employees of big name companies.

All this digging, searching, reading, and researching left me with one aching and scary question.

Is social media worth it?

Citations

Davies, M. (2007). Doing a successful research project: Using qualitative or quantitative methods. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan.

Sifferlin, A., & Sifferlin, A. (n.d.). Why Facebook Makes You Feel Bad About Yourself | TIME.com. Time. Retrieved from http://healthland.time.com/2013/01/24/why-facebook-makes-you-feel-bad-about-yourself/

You need to get off facebook. (2010, December 13). YouTube. Retrieved from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8UouP8cRYZ8

Leave a Reply

